You are here: Home > Uncategorized > What Are The Names Of Chicago’s 28 Sister Cities?

What Are The Names Of Chicago’s 28 Sister Cities?

Chicago is a huge and vibrant city, and it’s not surprising that she has so many sister cities. Sister cities are cities that have agreements to promote and support their commercial and cultural ties. Here are Chicago’s 28 sister cities:

Warsaw, the capital of Poland
Milan, Italy
Osaka, Japan
Casablanca, Morocco
Shanghai, China
Shenyang, China
Gothenburg, Sweden
Accra, the capital of Ghana
Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic
Kiev, Ukraine
Mexico City, the capital of Mexico
Toronto, Canada
Birmingham, in the United Kingdom
Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania
Hamburg, a port city in Germany
Petah Tikva, in Israel
Athens, the capital of Greece
Durban, South Africa
Galway, Ireland
Moscow, the capital of Russia
Lucerne, Switzerland
Delhi, India
Amman, the capital of Jordan
So Paulo, Brazil
Belgrade, the capital of Serbia
Lahore, Pakistan
Busan, South Korea
and Bogot, the capital of Colombia

Many of these cities were chosen because they, like Chicago, are the second most populated or the second most important city in their country. Other countries, like Poland, saw many of their own citizens emigrate to Chicago. Every year Chicago throws a celebration in Daly Plaza to honor her sister cities. There, visitors can enjoy performances and food from the other sister cities.

Chicago has been sister cities the longest with Warsaw. Their relationship began in 1960. Bogot is the latest sister city. It became sister cities with Chicago in 2009.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Twitter
  • RSS

Comments are closed.